A good night’s sleep at last

The Electoral college did it’s job; showed us that the democratic process does, indeed, work. Biden will be the 46th president. That soothing, low-key, but knowledgeable person is like a breath of fresh air. No more name calling, rage tweeting, trying to actually run the country by tweet (and who could ever have imagined that.) Enough of the reality tv show; let’s just have a nice quiet, competently governed country.

I followed the Electoral College all day Monday as the votes came in. There had been the threat of a rebellion. But all went smoothly. At 5:00 p.m. my time, I watched California vote. I had never paid much attention to this process before; just sort of took it for granted. But it was interesting to watch. I learned a few things. We really are a strong country with some good protocols in place.

My anxiety level is back to an ordinary level. We still have COVID to deal with, and Biden hasn’t yet taken the oath of office, so I won’t completely relax for a while yet, but I have had two good night’s sleep, and oh, how I needed that.

About barbaraehardy

Retired teacher
This entry was posted in COVID, News and politics. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment