Tax day has come and gone; yea!!

Taxes aren’t usually a big thing for me. I’ve had the same accountant for almost 20 years, and I think he could do my return in his sleep. So, imagine my shock this year to learn he had retired! Yikes.

What to do, what to do?? Well, it should have been easy. Said accountant’s son, also a CPA, had been helping him for years. Alas, he (son) had accepted a job with a larger firm and they wouldn’t let him work on the side, so I had to file through this firm. NIGHTMARE.

I sent my well-organized paperwork in early March, expecting, as usual, to receive it back in a week.

Three weeks went by, and I was contacted to say,” we’ll have to do an extension”. Major hissy fit from me, so that became “maybe” instead of “we’re doing this.:” Still, anxiety had risen within me and I had a few sleepless nights worrying.

Finally, my new accountant brought my printed return home to his father who mailed it in the morning. I received it two days later; immediately did what little was needed from me and drove 20 minutes to the post office to get it in the mail….on April 9. Much too close for comfort for this old lady.

About barbaraehardy

Retired teacher
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment