Bridge today

I’ve just set up the card table in the living room. My very little bridge group (there are only four of us) will play today from 1:00 to 4:00 p.m. I am SO excited. We played for a few months in the fall; then, come the holidays, we put it on hold. Now….with all four of us vaccinated, we feel safe again.

Oh yes, we’ll still wear masks. And use hand sanitizer. But we can’t socially distance, and it’s too cold to sit on the porch, so it’s the vaccines that are making us feel ok about this.

I truly miss playing cards. Our family always played card games, starting as soon as our chubby little hands could hold the cards. It was Old Maid; then rummy; then we graduated to pinochle. That was the game of choice for us.

I didn’t start playing bridge until I was a young mother back in the mid-60s. Four of us fulltime moms gave ourselves a night out once a week, and we learned together. What fun we had…and I don’t think any of us dreamed we were developing a life-long skill. Where ever I’ve lived, though, there’s always been a bridge club to join. It’s a wonderful way to make friends….and for an introvert, it’s practically perfect because there’s very little small talk. Our conversations, what few there are, center on the game itself.

It is all of our hope that in another month our entire 20 person bridge group can start playing in the clubhouse again. Fingers crossed!

About barbaraehardy

Retired teacher
This entry was posted in COVID, Entertainment. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment