The world just got scarier

I can barely force myself to watch the newscasts of what is happening in Ukraine. Are we on the brink of another world war?

Sometimes I think my entire life has been defined by war: Born during WWII; school days influenced by the ‘cold war’ and all those bomb drills; college years strongly impacted by Vietnam. It seems we just jump from one conflict to another. There have been many since Vietnam, of course; the weapons get more powerful; more frightening. There are always enemies; always nations and people who hate us. I remember lying awake at night…way back in the 1950s…wondering if our country would be bombed during the night, if we would even have another day in which to awaken. After decades of that, it becomes almost impossible to remain in scared mode all the time. But this one looks worse, and I’m back to worrying.

About barbaraehardy

Retired teacher
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment