Bridal Shower

Today I had the pleasure of shopping for a bridal shower gift for my grandson’s fiancé. This is the first grand to get married, so that made it extra special. I knew just where to go, too, because Bertie had taken me to a cute store for young people once when she was shopping for her granddaughter. I had browsed the store thoroughly and therefore knew they had a bridal section. I made a beeline for that and found so many adorable things! I chose three. They are now, along with wrappings, etc., boxed up ready to mail to Noel. She will arrange it all in the gift bag, tuck in my card, and voila! As the mother of the groom, she will of course be attending. But for me, it’s a two-day drive, so no.

The shower invitation requested recipes for the bride. Hmmm. Had to think about that. After so many decades of cooking, I rarely use a recipe. I finally settled on a breakfast casserole that I’ve served many times. Everyone loves it, and I thank my sister-in-law, Debbie, for sending it to me twenty some years ago! It will be served by another generation now. Or at least I hope it will.

A wedding is such a happy event for a family. So often it’s illness or worse that we have to focus on. What a joy to have this instead!

About barbaraehardy

Retired teacher
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment