The Barbie movie

Yes, I went. Why, you ask, would an 80-something woman go see a movie about Barbie dolls? Here’s why: with three daughters and three granddaughters, I have easily spent $10,000 on Barbie dolls, clothes, accessories, houses, vans…you name it over the years. So, I feel like I sort of AM Mattel!

What a movie it is! Part comedy, part musical, part feminist manifesto. That’s quite a combination, but it made for 90 minutes of entertainment, perfect for a 92 degree day. I enjoyed it. Not sure my sister, who accompanied me, did.

What it’s not is a movie for young children. It might be fun for them to look at (EVERY Barbie house and vehicle is depicted.) but they would not understand any of the dialect.

Best screenshot: The first siting of Barbie wearing that iconic black and white swimsuit. Margot Robbie has a perfect body. She really looks the part, kudos to her, because she is a very talented actress, not just a “look.” She was willing to risk looking plastic for this role. Not every actress would do that.

About barbaraehardy

Retired teacher
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment