Christmas 2023

Not a creature is stirring here, that’s for sure. It’s cold for our southern state, so other than the grocery store this morning, Don and I are not venturing out. We are apparently alone in that judging by the number of people shopping even at eight a.m.! We had purposely gone early, thinking to avoid the crowds. But, really, the day before a major holiday??? What on earth were we thinking.

Tomorrow we will be joining my sister and her family for her traditional prime rib dinner. She is an excellent cook, so the meal holds much promise. I’m bringing salmon for an option for the non-meat eaters.

I miss seeing my own children, of course, but that hasn’t happened in a decade, so I don’t dwell on it. Afterall, I’m the one who keeps moving!! Whenever I do see one or more of them, in my heart THAT is the holiday. Actual dates have no meaning in that regard.

I keep drifting back to Christmas in Coeymans when I was a girl. The hours playing with the tree, hiding things for the siblings to find! The year Santa brought me the gift of my dreams: red cowgirl boots! The baby dolls that I truly loved and would buy clothes for at Kresge’s on those rare trips to Albany to shop. 

Other memories that fill me are of my children when they were little and awaiting Santa. Oh, that excitement and wonder. We always ‘discovered’ the filled stockings first, and they set the mood. Mostly filled with trinkets, they always held one special gift. Bicycles, dolls, clothes when they were older and cared more about those. We had some lovely times.

I have many blessings to count!

About barbaraehardy

Retired teacher
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment