Downsizing

I’ve known for years that I would someday have to/want to downsize.   Did that make me clean out closets?  Kitchen cupboards?   The shed?  The garage?  HAH

Actually, I have sold quite a lot at garage sales in the past few years…and given even more to Goodwill.  Still, there’s a whole lot of stuff packed away, stuff that I haven’t seen in years and will never again use.

Why is it so hard, then, to just chuck it all?   It might actually be easy if I didn’t take time to look at things first.   Yesterday, for instance,  I dug out old toys;  ascertained that the daughters no longer wanted them (raising the very good question of why I’ve dragged them from house to house for 20-30 years); and spent the day sorting them.  This, to Don, looked a lot like playing with them.   Ok, maybe.   I had a lovely time. 🙂   This morning after our walk, Cheryl came in to look at some things and bought quite a lot,  so all the sorting was definitely worth it.

I have so many boxes to look through, some just photos; others, old school papers (really, now!)   and a whole lot more toys.   It’s fun;  it’s exhausting;  it’s necessary.

Although I probably won’t get this house on the market this spring, surely I will by next year at this time.   Owning more than one home is a bit of a burden…not unbearable…but annoying in many small ways.  I’ll be glad to settle down in the Florida one.  Just not quite yet.

Anyway,  I’ve begun the process.

About barbaraehardy

Retired teacher
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment