Take care of yourself, page 2

If you want to be one of those old people who can eat everything and not take a bunch of meds for digestion, this may help.

Consider the process of digestion: it starts in the mouth, with our teeth chewing the food. It makes sense, therefore, does it not, to take care of your teeth.

Floss and brush after breakfast and before bed. See a dentist once a year for a checkup and professional cleaning (twice if you have insurance or can afford it on your own.)

I came of age before fluoride was routinely added to drinking water. I had MANY cavities. Over the years, they were refilled and refilled and finally converted into crowns. This was not fun, but I never lost the ability to chew my food well.

Protect your own ability to chew. It really is important.

Next step in digestion is getting the food down the esophagus. Well chewed food goes down easier than big, chokey chunks.

Avoid super hot liquids. You can wait 30 seconds for your coffee or tea to be drinkable. Protect your esophagus from these assaults.

Next up: the stomach and intestines. Yogurt is your best bet. It really does aid digestion. I started eating it in the late 1960s. Before then I had suffered through all kinds of indigestion nightmares. After yogurt became a regular part of my diet, I truly could eat anything and not suffer unpleasant consquences.

If you are lactose intolerant, you probably should take this suggestion to your doctor and see what alternate solution he/she can offer.

More to come, but probably not tomorrow as I have a busy day.

Take care of yourself!

About barbaraehardy

Retired teacher
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment